Google Chrome is introducing changes to the way the Flash plug-in works.

Google Chrome is introducing changes to the way the Flash plug-in works. Here’s what to expect.

What is changing and what does it mean to you?

Recently Google Chrome released an update (ver. 55) that changed the way Flash content displays. Up to now, websites containing Flash elements opened automatically, without asking your permission to display Flash content. From now on, Google Chrome will ask your permission to display Flash content on any website that includes Flash components. Your browser remembers the permission, so the next time you visit the same website, the Flash content will display automatically.

The transition from no-prompt action to prompt action will happen gradually from January to October 2017. The timing of the appearance of the prompt on a given website is tied to its place in your Site Engagement ranking. The more often you visit a website, the higher its ranking, and the later the Flash prompt will appear. So for websites you rarely visit, the prompt will display in February or even January. And for those you visit often, it will display in October at the latest.

What do you need to do?

If you have upgraded to the latest version of Google Chrome (ver. 55), use ClickMeeting as usual. If a prompt appears asking your permission to display Flash content, click to allow access. After that, no messages will appear when you use ClickMeeting.